Armenia and Azerbaijan create state commissions responsible for the demarcation of their common border

Armenia and Azerbaijan on Monday (23 May) took steps for establishing state commissions responsible to negotiate about the demarcation of their common border and other related issues.

The decision was announced simultaneously in both capitals.

In Yerevan, the Prime Minister of Armenia Nikol Pashinyan signed a decision on the establishment of the commission on border demarcation and border security between Armenia and Azerbaijan. Deputy Prime Minister Mher Grigoryan was appointed Chairman of the Commission. Among those also included in the Commission are representatives of ministries and other structures, in particular, the Deputy Foreign Minister Mnatsakan Safaryan, Deputy Defense Minister Arman Sargsyan, Deputy Minister of Justice Grigor Minasyan, Deputy Minister of Territorial Administration and Infrastructures Hovhannes Harutyunyan.

In Baku, President Ilham Aliyev signed an order creating a State Commission for the delimitation of the state border between the Republic of Azerbaijan and the Republic of Armenia.   

Shahin Mustafayev, Deputy Prime Minister of Azerbaijan, has been appointed chairman of the commission . Other members of the Commission include, the Deputy Prime Minister of the Nakhchivan Autonomous Republic; Deputy Ministers of Foreign Affairs, Internal Affairs, Ecology and Natural Resources, Justice, Agriculture and Defense as well as the First Deputy Head of the State Security Service,  and Deputy Heads of the State Border Service and the Foreign Intelligence Service of Azerbaijan. Also in the commission are the Deputy Chairman  of  " Azerbaijan Melioration  and  Water Management " OJSC; Head of the State Service for Property Issues under the Ministry of Economy of Azerbaijan; head of the sector of the department of legislation and legal policy of the Presidential Administration of Azerbaijan; and the head of the Executive Power of various regions including Gazakh, Akstafa, Tovuz, Gadabay, Dashkesan, Kalbajar, Lachin, Gubadli and Zangilan.

The appointment of the two commissions follows agreement by the leaders of the two countries at their meeting in Brussels yesterday (Sunday 22 May). According to EU Council president Charles Michel, president Aliyev and prime minister Pashinyan agreed that the first joint meeting of the Border Commissions will take place on the inter-state border in the coming days. It will address all questions related to the delimitation of the border and how best to ensure a stable situation.

source: with agencies