Armenia to establish three border checkpoints with Azerbaijan

The National Security Service of Armenia is proposing to create checkpoints at three points on the Armenian-Azerbaijani border.

A draft of the necessary legislation has been published on the official website

The measure envisages the creation of new state border crossing points in Armenia in order to organize and implement the crossing of persons, goods and vehicles across the state border. New checkpoints are planned to be created in the Armenian regions bordering Azerbaijan, namely in Gegharkunik (from Sotk community to the state border along the  M11 highway for motor vehicles), Ararat (Yeraskh community for motor vehicles), Syunik (about 7.5 km south of Karahunj community, southeast M2 highway (for motor vehicles) towards the border.

The National Security Service said it will require additional funding for constructing and furnishing the checkpoints. 

source: with Armenpress News Agency (Yerevan)
photo: Armenia-Azerbaijan border (archive picture)