EU mission in Armenia to open three additional operational hubs

The European Union mission in Armenia (EUMA) is set to open three additional operational hubs in the upcoming months, it was announced on Tuesday (6 June).

On 1 June, Markus Ritter, the EUMA Head of Mission updated a delegation from the EU's Working Party on Eastern Europe and Central Asia (COEST) on security developments on the ground, based on observations gathered from the mission’s patrols. The EU's ambassador to Armenia, Andrea Wiktorin, was also present at the meeting in Martuni.

According to the EUMA's website, in the first three months of its existence, the mission conducted more than 300 patrols from its operational hubs in Goris, Jermuk and Martuni, covering more than 3800km of distance every week.

“The mission was launched [at] an unprecedented speed, starting its operations this February,” Mr Ritter said. The mission plans to open the three additional operational hubs in Kapan, Ijevan and Yeghegnadzor in the upcoming months, gradually reaching full operational capability in the near future, the EUMA said in their press release about the 1 June meeting.

“Our goal is – among others – to contribute to stabilising the security in border areas. And according to numerous Armenian officials, EUMA has contributed to a certain stabilisation of the situation. However, the situation remains volatile,” Mr Ritter added.

source: with EUMA
photo: EUMA